The George Seymour
John Anderson Jun. (1849-1934) migrated from Scotland to Canterbury, aged one, with his parents John, a blacksmith (29), and Jane (29).
After a fortnight in Barrack A, Room 3, the Anderson family set up their tent at The Bricks, where John Sen. set up his first forge. The family then bought Town Section 877 in Cashel Street (the Bells Arcade area) and moved their business there in February 1852.
John Jun. was sent to Scotland by his father to be educated at Merchiston Castle School, after which John gained experience as an engineer in Scotland before coming back to run the family business.
According to records, in 1900 John was living in Christchurch.